#ProductDiaries 10/28/22: shared post-meeting recaps

Phyllis
1 min readOct 29, 2022

--

#ProductDiaries is a documented series of my experience as a product manager — what I’m doing, what I’m learning, and what I’m changing.

I was faced with the importance of shared notes several times today.

  • After a meeting, write a recap of things discussed and decisions made with next steps and owners
  • “Let me know if I missed or misunderstood anything” at the end of the note allowing everyone the opportunity to correct you then and there
  • Put this in a shared doc that all attendees and relevant stakeholders have access to (Slack channel is fine too but keep in mind those disappear after a year and you might want a record that lasts longer than that)

I learned this is CRITICAL because in the future anyone claims a different understanding of what everyone agreed on, there’s public record to refer to instead of a game of he-said-she-said.

Additionally, sometimes you really did misunderstand and that opportunity for group clarity helps moves the right things forward.

Also, if you want to track when / why / how something was decided and by whom, you can.

Lastly, you can hold those owners accountable to the agreed deadlines.

--

--